Categorized | Homepage features, News

Star reporters win awards

Steinmetz Star reporters and photographers again received affirmation that they are among the best journalists in Chicago.

On Friday, March 22, Steinmetz finished 4th in the city for the most Scholastic Press Association of Chicago media awards, beating out Taft, Whitney Young, Pritzker Charter, Phoenix Military, Mother McAuley and many other Chicago high schools. The top award-winners were Jones, Lane, and Payton.

Steinmetz students received Excellent and Superior awards for their special coverage of seniors, sports reporting and feature writing, column writing, staff editorial, layout, and overall newspaper.


Individual award winners were Alyssa Avilez, Adrienne Henry, Rocio Flores, and Nelida Navarro. Co-editors-in-chief Tamara Johnson and Erika Carrasco contributed stories to the special coverage (of 2018 graduates) that received recognition. Dozens of journalism students and Newspaper Club students contributed to the Star staff editorial, and overall newspaper.

The Steinmetz Star has been in print for 84 years, regularly showing that all students are valuable and that their opinions matter. While many other high schools have dropped their newspapers, Steinmetz continues to support student voice, realizing the great benefits to the community that result from a print newspaper that is created by and for students.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


* Copy This Password *

* Type Or Paste Password Here *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

Newspaper Club

Steinmetz Star Newspaper Club
All students are welcome to join the newspaper club. Send an email to if you are interested in meeting.

SPAC’s 2019 Overall Newspaper winner

Star Twitter