Categorized | News

Not required at most schools

Research by Steinmetz Star staff reporters*

Unlike Steinmetz students, most north side students attending public high school are not required to wear school uniforms.

Schurz High School (pictured at right) dropped its uniform requirement last year.

The Star researched all the high schools in Chicago located north of the Eisenhower Expressway, in 290.

The Star researched all the non-charter, non-military public high schools in Chicago located north of the Eisenhower Expressway, I 290.

No uniforms required

The following 31 high schools do not require uniforms:

Alcott, 2957 N. Hoyne

Amundsen, 5110 N. Damen

Crane Medical, 2245 W. Jackson

Chicago Academy, 3400 N. Austin

Chicago Arts, 2714 W. Augusta

Clemente, 1147 N. Western

DeVry, 3300 N. Campbell

Disney II, 3900 N. Lawndale

Foreman, 3235 N. LeClaire

Jones, 700 S. State

Lake View, 4015 N. Ashland

Lane, 2501 W. Addison

Lincoln Park, 2001 N. Orchard

Mather, 5835 N. Lincoln

North-Grand, 4338 W. Wabansia

Northside Learning Center, 3730 W. Bryn Mawr

Northside College Prep, 5501 N. Kedzie

Ogden, 1250 W. Erie, neighborhood

Payton, 1034 N. Wells

Prosser, 2148 N. Long

Roosevelt, 3436 W. Wilson

Schurz, 3601 N. Milwaukee

Senn, 5900 N. Glenwood

Sullivan, 6631 N. Bosworth

Taft, 6530 W. Bryn Mawr

Uplift, 900 W. Wilson

Vaughn, 4355 N. Linder

Von Steuben, 5039 N. Kimball

Westinghouse, 3223 W. Franklin

Wells, 936 N. Ashland

Whitney Young, 211 S. Laflin

Uniforms required

There are only six non-charter, non-military public high schools north of the Eisenhower Expressway that require uniforms.

Austin, 231 N. Pine

Kelvyn Park, 4343 W. Wrightwood

Marshall, 3250 W. Adams

Orr, 730 N. Pulaski,

Al Raby, 3545 W. Fulton

Steinmetz, 3030 N. Mobile


Steinmetz College Prep High School has a uniform policy more in line with charter schools and Catholic schools than with regular public schools in Chicago. (Photo by Jesse Martinez.)

* Star reporters who contributed to this story include Jasmin Milan, Ahmari Owens, Evelyn Antolino, Ryan Allibone, Jennifer Cloud, Aaron Borda, Ariel Garcia, Jade Aguilar, Erika Carrasco, Jose Plaza, Antonio Sanchez, Yesenia Pliego, Lexi Rosch, Vanessa Tamayo, Izabella Kulik, Daysi Posadas, Lizeth Lopez, Nathalie Rojas, Taylor Montero, Ronald Evans, David Delgado.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


* Copy This Password *

* Type Or Paste Password Here *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

Newspaper Club

Steinmetz Star Newspaper Club
All students are welcome to join the newspaper club. Send an email to if you are interested in meeting.

SPAC’s 2019 Overall Newspaper winner

Star Twitter